What’s Your Problem?

Standard

“In their own eyes they flatter themselves too much to detect or hate their sin.” Psalm 36:2

When I first read this verse I could apply it to many people. I had one person in particular in mind. Then the Lord showed me that it also applied to me.

I have always known that I have a temper. I say I got it honest from my dad. There is a verse that applies to this as well. It is one of my favorites. Proverbs 30:33 says, “For as churning cream produces butter, and as twisting the nose produces blood, so stirring up anger produces strife.” I get angry about something and I just can’t seem to let it go. I think about it and think about it till I am like a volcano about to erupt. You can literally see the smoke going out of my ears and nose. Ok, not really but my family knows when I’m mad just by looking at me. One of my eyebrows rises. I got that from my mom. Her’s went up when she was mad, too. When it was up you knew to steer clear. Far away clear! My family has learned the same thing.

Like the alcoholic that doesn’t see drinking as a problem, I didn’t see my anger as a problem. Like the alcoholic, I didn’t want to admit it. But once I admitted it as a problem and handed it over to God He began a mighty work in me.

He showed me what triggered my anger. Sometimes it is worse when I am totally female (if you get my drift). I have learned to look for that and do something on those days that keeps me busy and focused on something positive. I sing a lot more now. Something about singing helps me to express my emotions better. So many Christian songs are out there that express exactly what I am feeling. This blog is a huge help. I have found that the truth really does set you free. When I am open and honest with you, my readers, Satan’s hold is broken!

There are many things that can be a problem. There are the more obvious one’s like alcohol and drugs, but there are the subtle one’s too. We all have a problem that we need to give to God and allow Him to clean them out of our hearts. Do not flatter yourself into thinking that you don’t have one. You do. If you can’t see it ask God to reveal it, but be ready. It isn’t going to be pretty and you aren’t going to like it. Just except it and ask God to clean it out of your heart so you can become more like Jesus. Isn’t that you goal anyway? If not, it should be.

Father, we are a new creation if we have excepted Jesus as  our personal Savior. As a new creation we should be transformed by the renewing of our minds. Sometimes that means we have to take a hard look at the ugly in our hearts. The mess is sometimes way too big for us to clean and we need help. Let us never be too proud to admit the we need help. Humble us so we can be helped.

Read: Psalm 36 and apply it to yourself instead of that person that comes to mind.

 

Leave a Reply

