The Old and The New

Standard

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

There are many things listed in the Bible that we need to repent from: gossiping, slander, stealing, adultery, etc.. But there are some things that aren’t specifically listed. God does tell us not to think too highly of ourselves (Romans 12:3)  I think this applies to  thinking too lowly of ourselves too. We each have our own area of that.

Growing up I never really felt all that smart. I struggled somewhat in school. Never really knew where I belonged, academically. If I were with the “average” students I made straight A’s. If I were with the “advanced” students I struggled anywhere from B’s to F’s. I know part of my struggle came from my family moving three times in between my first-third grade years. I missed out on some of the basic concepts and played catch-up for the rest of my school days.

Since school was a struggle for me I didn’t try really hard at it. I was a latch-key kid so there was no real follow-up on homework or projects. Back then there wasn’t many, if any, parent-teacher conferences so, my parents were clueless. At least, I thought they were. I would change the grades on my report card. Easy to do when they were hand written, not computer generated like today.  If they ever knew that I changed my grades they never said anything about it or punished me.  Nor did my parents have a way to keep up with my grades on computer like I can keep up with Dillon’s.

This self-esteem of being average has carried over into adulthood. Psychologists  say we are shaped by our past. I agree. BUT…

I have accepted Christ as my Savior. I have been made new in Christ. I don’t have to see myself as average anymore. That is my old self. God created me just the way I am and I am smart, if I learn something the way He created me to learn it.  He has shown me how I learn best and I am beginning to apply that to my life. There are other ways He is showing me that I don’t have to be anymore; that I can choose to repent and change my thinking. Like being a latch-key kid. He is always there for me. He is always ready to help me learn something new, whether it be about myself or something about the computer. (Right now I am very computer illiterate! lol One reason He gave me My Man! I let him figure it out then show me how to do it. That’s how I learn best!)

What do you struggle with? Perhaps you feel unliked, ugly, or just simply not enough. Not smart enough, not talented enough, not good enough. Ask God to show you why you think that way, and what you need to do to repent from that and how to transform your thinking.  Ask how God sees you and begin to believe it. You are dearly loved, Beloved!

Father, help me to receive your healing and forgiveness for things in my past. Show me how I am made new in You.

Read: 2 Corinthians 5:16-21

4 responses »

  1. And the awesome things is that just like you, every single believer is a new creation too. When I go to church on Sundays and look around, that’s exactly what I see: A whole bunch of new creations!

Leave a Reply

