But I Don’t Want To

Standard

“Jesus replied, ‘Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.” John 14:23

I keep a 6-year-old in the afternoons after school. We have nicknamed her “Boo” because when she was little and we put her hair in pigtails, she looked like Boo from the movie Monsters Inc. 

Like all 6-year-olds there can be days that are trying. She has her moments of not doing what I ask her to do. Even with the simplest thing like putting on her shoes when she is told. She runs to do something else. UGH! Some days I just want to scream at her. I don’t. I know it wouldn’t do any good, and she would only cry and I would feel like a mean and hateful person. I just patiently stop her and tell her again to do what she was told. She does, even if she doesn’t want to.

I found myself acting like Boo this week. Not wanting to do what I was asked by God.

Last week, God showed me an opportunity. I think. I got that old anxious feeling inside. It was so strong I really couldn’t tell if it was God not wanting me to do it or that fact don’t want to do it. I couldn’t do any thing about it then anyway. The opportunity wasn’t open, literally, because of Thanksgiving break. So, I said I would check on it this week. I put it off Monday and Tuesday. Called myself  “praying” about it, but I was really trying to talk God out of it. Well…I made the call today. LOL the person I needed to talk to was out of the office and will be until Friday. I’ll have to wait till then to see if the opportunity is open. I still hope not. Doesn’t matter though. I was obedient and made the call. The anxious feeling is gone. I have never regretted being obedient to God. Even if I’m asked to make a simple phone call.

Now the question is will I be obedient if the opportunity is open to me? Ugh! Well, like Scarlett O’Hara said, “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Father, Like a child there are times I don’t want to do what You tell me to do. But, I have never regretted being obedient. Help me now to be obedient to You and what You want me to do today. I love You! ❤

Read: Isaiah 1:18-20

2 responses »

  1. 🙂 He already knows the future, the outcome. Sometimes these places are so hard, but the alternative is another lap around the mountain…or desert…I know you will do the right thing, because you have trusted it into bigger hands.

Leave a Reply

